MCF3M Semester 2: 2017-2018

Course Materials

         Course Pack

o   Part 1

o   Part 2

Unit 1: Quadratic Relationships

Date

Topic/Learning Goals

Daily Work/Assignments

Monday, February 5, 2018

 

 

Adding/Subtracting Like Terms

We will review how to add, subtract like terms

CP pages 1-8

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

 

 

Expanding Binomial Expressions

CP pages 9-10

Wednesday, February 7, 2018

 

Common Factoring

 

Factoring Simple Trinomials

CP pages 11-12

 

CP pages 13-14

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Factoring a Difference of Squares

 

We will learn how to factor a difference of squares

 

CP page 15-16

Friday, February 9, 2018

Factoring Difficult Trinomials

 

Mixed Factoring

CP page 18-19

 

CP page 20

 

Monday, February 12, 2018

Quadratic Relationships

 

We will learn how to find first and second differences from a table of values

CP page 21-24

Tuesday, February 13, 2018

Factored Relations

We will learn how to graph parabolas using zeros and the vertex

CP page 25-26

 

 

 

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Degree and Relations

 

Changing from Factored Form to Standard Form

We will learn how to convert quadratics from factored form into standard form.

 

CP page 27

 

CP page 28-31

Thursday, February 15, 2018

Quiz #1

 

Converting from Standard form to Factored form.

 

 

CP page 28-31

Friday, February 16, 2018

Graphs of Factored Quadratic Relations

 

 

CP page 32-33

Monday, February 19, 2018

Family Day

 

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Solving Quadratic Equations

 

We will learn how to solve a quadratic equation by factoring

 

CP page 34 #1-3

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

 

 

Solving Quadratic Word Problems (Day 1)

 

We will learn how to solve quadratic word problems

CP page 34 # 4-6

CP page 35

Thursday, February 22, 2018

 

 

Solving Quadratic Word Problems (Day 2)

CP page 36 - 37

Friday, February 23, 2018

 

 

Quiz # 2

 

Solving Quadratic Word Problems (Day 3)

 

 

CP page 37

Monday, February 26, 2018

Review (Day 1)

Review Sheet

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

 

Review (Day 2)

Review Sheet

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Domain and Range

We will define domain and range

CP pages 39-40

Solutions

Unit 2: Applications of Quadratic Functions

Date

Topic/Learning Goals

Daily Work/Assignments

Thursday, March 1, 2018

 

Functions and the Vertical Line Test

We will define a function

CP pages 41-42

Friday, March 2, 2018

 

Unit 1 Test

Monday, March 5, 2018

 

Function Notation on Graphs

CP pages 43-44

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Function Notation

 

 

 

CP page 45-46

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Parabolas in Vertex Form

 

We will learn how to graph a parabola in vertex form

 

CP page 47-49

Thursday, March 8, 2018

Parabolas in Vertex Form

(Day 2)

 

CP page 50-51

Friday, March 9, 2018

Quiz #3 Quadratics

 

 

Monday March 12, 2018 to Friday March 16, 2018

March Break

 

Monday, March 19, 2018

Parabolas in Vertex Form

(Day 3)

 

CP page 52, 56

Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Parabolas in Vertex Form

(Day 4)

CP page 57-58

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Perfect square Trinomials and Completing the Square

 

We will learn how to complete the square to form a parabola in vertex form

 

CP page 59-61

Thursday, March 22, 2018

Completing the Square

(Day 2)

CP page 59-61

Friday, March 23, 2018

Maximum and Minimum

 

We will learn how to find the maximum and minimum values from a quadratic equation

CP page 62-63

Monday, March 26, 2018

Maximum and Minimum Word Problems

 

We will learn how to solve word problems involving quadratics

CP page 63

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

Simplifying Radicals

 

We will learn how to simplify radicals

CP page 64-65

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Quiz #4

 

Solving Unfactorable Quadratic Equations Graphically and Algebraically

 

We will learn how to use the quadratic formula to find the zeros.

 

 

CP page 66-68

Thursday, March 29, 2018

Solving Unfactorable Quadratic Equations (Day 2)

 

CP page 66-68

Friday, March 30, 2018

Good Friday

Monday, April 2, 2018

 

Easter Monday

Tuesday, April 3, 2018

 

The Discriminant

CP page 68 #6,

CP pages 69-70

Wednesday, April 4, 2018

 

Review (Day 1)

Handout

 

Thursday, April 5, 2018

Review (Day 2)

 

Unit 3: Trigonometric Ratios

 

Date

Topic/Learning Goals

Daily Work/Assignments

Friday, April 6, 2018

 

 

Trigonometric Ratios

We will learn how to find the 3 basic trigonometric ratios

CP Part 2, Pages 1-3

Monday, April 9, 2018

 

 

Unit 2 Test

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

OSSLT

No classes

 

 

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Solving Right Angle Triangles

We will learn how to solve right angle triangles.

CP Part 2, Pages 4-7

Thursday, April 12, 2018

Angles of Elevation and Depression

We will learn how to solve word problems involving angles of elevation and depression

CP page 8

Friday, April 13, 2018

 

Double Tangent Word Problems

 

We will learn how to solve double tangent word problems

CP page 13-14

Monday, April 16, 2018

Inclement Weather Day

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Double Tangent Word Problems

CP page 14

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

The Sine Law

 

We will learn the sine law and apply it to oblique triangles

 

CP page 15

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Cosine Law

 

We will learn the cosine law and apply it to oblique triangles

 

CP page 16-19

Friday, April 20, 2018

Bearings

 

We will learn how to use bearings.

CP page 21-22

Monday, April 23, 2018

Bearings (Day 2)

CP page 22

Tuesday, April 24, 2018

Quiz #5

 

 

Problems involving Sine and Cosine Laws

 

 

 

 

 

CP page 23

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Problems involving Sine and Cosine Laws (Day 2)

 

CP Page 23

Thursday, April 26, 2018

Review

 

Handout

Friday, April 27, 2018

Review (Day 2)

 

 

Monday, April 30, 2018

Sketching angles in standard position (90o to 360o)

 

We will learn how to sketch positive and negative angles in standard position.

CP Page 24-26

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unit 4: Trigonometric Functions

 

Date

Topic/Learning Goals

Daily Work/Assignments

Tuesday, May 1, 2018

Trigonometric Angles over 90o

 

We will work with angles greater than 90o

CP page 28-29

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Unit 3 Trigonometry Test

Thursday, May 3, 2018

Related Angles and the CAST rule

We will learn how to use the CAST rule.

 

CP page 31-32

Friday, May 4, 2018

 

P.A. Day

Monday, May 7, 2018

Related Angles and the CAST rule

We will learn how to use the CAST rule.

CP page 31-32

Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Angles and Points

CP page 33-34

 

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Angles beyond 360o

 

Coterminal Angles and Related Angles

We will learn coterminal angles and relate them to related angles.

CP page 35-36

 

CP page 37

Thursday, May 10, 2018

Quiz #6

 

 

Special Angles

We will learn how to find the sine, cosine and tangent of special angles.

 

 

 

 

 

CP page 38-40

Friday, May 11, 2018

Sketching Basic Trigonometric Functions

We will learn to sketch the three primary trigonometric functions

 

CP page 41-42

Monday, May 14, 2018

Transformations of Trigonometric Functions

 

We will learn how to transform primary trigonometric functions

CP page 43-45

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Reflections of Trigonometric Functions

 

We will learn how to reflect trigonometric functions.

CP page 47

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Periodic Functions

 

We will work with periodic functions.

CP page 48-49

Thursday, May 17, 2018

 

Quiz #7

Analyzing Trigonometric Functions

 

CP page 50-52

Friday, May 18, 2018

Application of Periodic Functions (Day 1)

CP page 53-56

Monday, May 21, 2018

Victoria Day

 

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Application of Periodic Functions (Day 2)

CP page 57-60

Thursday, May 24, 2018

Review

Handout

Friday, May 25, 2018

Unit Trigonometry Test

 

Monday, May 28, 2018

Start New Unit

Exponent Laws Review

We will review exponent laws.

CP page 63-66

Unit 5: Exponential Functions

 

Date

Topic/Learning Goals

Daily Work/Assignments

Tuesday, May 29, 2018

Radicals

We will learn how to work with radicals

CP page 67-68

Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Exponential Functions (Day 1)

We will learn how to graph exponential functions.

CP page 69-70

Thursday, May 31, 2018

Exponential Functions (Day 2)

We will graph exponential functions

CP page 71-74

Friday, June 1, 2018

Solving Exponential Functions

CP page 75

Monday, June 4, 2018

Applications of Exponential Functions (Day 1)

We will learn how to apply exponential functions

CP page 76-79

Tuesday, June 5, 2018

Applications of Exponential Functions (Day 2)

CP page 79

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Quiz #8

Review

 

Handout

 

Unit 6: Financial Mathematics

Date

Topic/Learning Goals

Daily Work/Assignments

Thursday, June 7, 2018

 

Converting Times and Rates

We will learn basic terminology in financial mathematics

Simple Interest

We will calculate simple interest

CP page 83,84

 

 

CP page 85,86

Friday, June 8, 2018

Graphing Simple Interest and Compound Interest

We will graph simple and compound interest

CP page 87 -89

Monday, June 11, 2018

Unit Test Exponents

 

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Compound Interest

CP page 90, 91

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Future Value of an Annuity

We will learn how to calculate the future value of an annuity

CP page 93-95

Thursday, June 14, 2018

Future Value of an Annuity

We will learn how to calculate the future value of an annuity

CP page 93-95

Friday, June 15, 2018

Present Value of an Annuity

CP page 96-97

Monday, June 18, 2018

Exam Review

 

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Exam Review

 

Friday June 22, 2018

 

Final Exam 9:00-11:00 am

New Location!!

Portable 8