MCF3M Semester 1: 2018-2019

Course Materials

         Course Outline Click here to access

         Course Pack

o   Part 1

o   Part 2

Unit 1: Quadratic Relationships

Date

Topic/Learning Goals

Daily Work/Assignments

Wednesday, September 5, 2018

 

 

Adding/Subtracting Like Terms

We will review how to add, subtract like terms

CP pages 1-8

Thursday, September 6, 2018

Expanding Binomial Expressions

CP pages 9-10

Friday, September 7, 2018

 

Common Factoring

 

Factoring Simple Trinomials

CP pages 11-12

 

CP pages 13-14

Monday September 10, 2018

Factoring a Difference of Squares

 

We will learn how to factor a difference of squares

 

CP page 15-16

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

Factoring Difficult Trinomials

CP page 18-19

 

Wednesday, September 12, 2018

Quadratic Relationships

 

We will learn how to find first and second differences from a table of values

CP page 21-24

Thursday, September 13, 2018

Factored Relations

We will learn how to graph parabolas using zeros and the vertex

CP page 25-26

 

 

 

Friday, September 14, 2018

Degree and Relations

 

Changing from Factored Form to Standard Form

We will learn how to convert quadratics from factored form into standard form.

 

CP page 27

 

CP page 28-31

Monday September 17, 2018

Quiz #1

 

Converting from Standard form to Factored form.

 

 

CP page 28-31

Tuesday September 18, 2018

Graphs of Factored Quadratic Relations

 

 

CP page 32-33

Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Solving Quadratic Equations

We will learn how to solve a quadratic equation by factoring

CP Page 34 # 1-3

Thursday, September 20, 2018

 

Solving Quadratic Word Problems (Day 1)

 

We will learn how to solve quadratic word problems

 

CP page 34 #4-6

CP page 35

Friday, September 21, 2018

 

 

Solving Quadratic Word Problems (Day 2)

 

We will learn how to solve quadratic word problems

CP page 36 - 37

Monday, September 24, 2018

P.A. Day

 

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

Solving Quadratic Word Problems

CP page 36 - 37

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

 

 

Quiz # 2

 

 

 

 

 

Thursday, September 27, 2018

Review (Day 1)

Review Sheet

Friday, September 28, 2018

Review (Day 2)

Review Sheet

Monday, October 1, 2018

Domain and Range

We will define domain and range

CP pages 39-40

Unit 2: Applications of Quadratic Functions

Date

Topic/Learning Goals

Daily Work/Assignments

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Functions and the Vertical Line Test

We will define a function

CP pages 41-42

Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Unit 1 Test

Thursday, October 4, 2018

Function Notation on Graphs

CP pages 43-44

Friday, October 5, 2018

Function Notation

CP page 45-46

Monday, October 8, 2018

Thanksgiving Day

 

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Parabolas in Vertex Form

We will learn how to graph a parabola in vertex form

 

CP page 47-49

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Parabolas in Vertex Form

(Day 2)

 

CP page 50-51

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Quiz #3 Quadratics

Parabolas in Vertex Form

(Day 3)

 

CP page 52, 56-58

Friday, October 12, 2018

Perfect square Trinomials and Completing the Square

 

We will learn how to complete the square to form a parabola in vertex form

 

CP page 59-61

Monday, October 15, 2018

Maximum and Minimum

 

We will learn how to find the maximum and minimum values from a quadratic equation

CP page 62-63

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Maximum and Minimum Word Problems

 

We will learn how to solve word problems involving quadratics

CP page 63

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Simplifying Radicals

 

We will learn how to simplify radicals

CP page 64-65

Thursday, October 18, 2018

Quiz #4

 

 

Friday, October 19, 2018

Solving Unfactorable Quadratic Equations Graphically and Algebraically

 

We will learn how to use the quadratic formula to find the zeros.

CP page 66-68

Monday, October 22, 2018

P.A. Day

 

Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Solving Unfactorable Quadratic Equations (Day 2)

 

CP page 66-68

Wednesday, October 24, 2018

 

The Discriminant

CP page 68 #6,

CP pages 69-70

Thursday, October 25, 2018

 

Review (Day 1)

Handout

 

Friday, October 26, 2018

Review (Day 2)

 

Monday, October 29, 2018

Unit 2 Test

 

Unit 3: Trigonometric Ratios

 

Date

Topic/Learning Goals

Daily Work/Assignments

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

 

 

Trigonometric Ratios

We will learn how to find the 3 basic trigonometric ratios

CP Part 2, Pages 1-3

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

 

 

Solving Right Angle Triangles

We will learn how to solve right angle triangles.

CP Part 2, Pages 4-7

Thursday, November 1, 2018

Angles of Elevation and Depression

We will learn how to solve word problems involving angles of elevation and depression

CP page 8

Friday, November 2, 2018

 

Double Tangent Word Problems

 

We will learn how to solve double tangent word problems

CP page 13-14

Monday, November 5, 2018

Double Tangent Word Problems

CP page 14

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

The Sine Law

 

We will learn the sine law and apply it to oblique triangles

 

CP page 15

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

Cosine Law

 

We will learn the cosine law and apply it to oblique triangles

 

CP page 16-19

Thursday, November 8, 2018

Cosine Law

 

We will learn the cosine law and apply it to oblique triangles

 

CP page 16-19

Friday, November 9, 2018

Bearings

 

We will learn how to use bearings.

CP page 21-22

Monday, November 12, 2018

Bearings (Day 2)

CP page 22

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Quiz #5

 

 

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2018

No Classes Today

 

 

 

Thursday, November 15, 2018

Problems involving Sine and Cosine Laws

 

CP Page 23

Friday, November 16, 2018

Review

 

Handout

Monday, November 19, 2018

Review (Day 2)

 

 

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Unit 3 Trigonometry Test

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unit 4: Trigonometric Functions

 

Date

Topic/Learning Goals

Daily Work/Assignments

Wednesday, November 21, 2018

Sketching angles in standard position (90o to 360o)

 

We will learn how to sketch positive and negative angles in standard position.

CP Page 24-26

Thursday, November 22, 2018

Trigonometric Angles over 90o

 

We will work with angles greater than 90o

CP page 28-29

Friday, November 23, 2018

P.A. Day

Monday, November 26, 2018

Related Angles and the CAST rule

We will learn how to use the CAST rule.

 

CP page 31-32

Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Related Angles and the CAST rule

We will learn how to use the CAST rule.

CP page 31-32

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2018

Angles and Points

CP page 33-34

Thursday, November 29, 2018

Angles beyond 360o

 

Coterminal Angles and Related Angles

We will learn coterminal angles and relate them to related angles.

CP page 35-36

 

CP page 37

Friday, November 30, 2018

Quiz #6

 

Special Angles

We will learn how to find the sine, cosine and tangent of special angles.

 

 

 

CP page 38-40

Monday, December 3, 2018

Sketching Basic Trigonometric Functions

We will learn to sketch the three primary trigonometric functions

 

CP page 41-42

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Transformations of Trigonometric Functions

 

We will learn how to transform primary trigonometric functions

CP page 43-45

Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Reflections of Trigonometric Functions

 

We will learn how to reflect trigonometric functions.

CP page 47

Thursday, December 6, 2018

Periodic Functions

 

We will work with periodic functions.

CP page 48-49

Friday, December 7, 2018

 

Quiz #7

Analyzing Trigonometric Functions

 

CP page 50-52

Monday, December 10, 2018

Application of Periodic Functions (Day 1)

CP page 53-56

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Application of Periodic Functions (Day 2)

CP page 57-60

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Review

Handout

Thursday, December 13, 2018

Unit Trigonometry Test

 

Unit 5: Exponential Functions

 

Date

Topic/Learning Goals

Daily Work/Assignments

Friday, December 14, 2018

Exponent Laws Review

We will review exponent laws

CP page 63-66

Monday, December 17, 2018

Radicals

We will learn how to work with radicals

CP page 67-68

Tuesday, December 18, 2018

Exponential Functions (Day 1)

We will learn how to graph exponential functions.

CP page 69-70

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2018

Exponential Functions (Day 2)

We will graph exponential functions

CP page 71-74

Thursday, December 20, 2018

Solving Exponential Functions

CP page 75

Friday , December 21, 2018

Applications of Exponential Functions (Day 1)

We will learn how to apply exponential functions

CP page 76-79

Monday, January 7, 2019

Applications of Exponential Functions (Day 2)

CP page 79

Tuesday, January 8, 2019

Quiz #8

Review

 

Handout

Wednesday, January 9, 2019

Unit Test

 

 

Unit 6: Financial Mathematics

Date

Topic/Learning Goals

Daily Work/Assignments

Thursday, January 10, 2019

 

Converting Times and Rates

We will learn basic terminology in financial mathematics

Simple Interest

We will calculate simple interest

CP page 83,84

 

 

CP page 85,86

Friday, January 11, 2019

Graphing Simple Interest and Compound Interest

We will graph simple and compound interest

CP page 87 -89

Monday, January 14, 2019

Compound Interest

CP page 90, 91

Tuesday, January 15, 2019

Future Value of an Annuity

We will learn how to calculate the future value of an annuity

CP page 93-95

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Future Value of an Annuity

We will learn how to calculate the future value of an annuity

CP page 93-95

Thursday, January 17, 2019

Present Value of an Annuity

CP page 96-97

Friday, January 18, 2018

Exam Review

 

Monday, January 21, 2018

Exam Review