MHF4U – Advanced Functions

       

Click here for a copy of Mr. Choi’s Super Trig Formula Sheet!!!

Unit 4:  Trigonometry 2

Date

Topic/Learning goals

Daily Work/Assignments

Fri Nov 16

Review of Trig graphs

We will review how to graph sine and cosine functions and extend that knowledge to graph in radians.  To recall how to create equations of trig functions with a single transformation.

p. 258 #1, 3, 5, 7, 9 – 11, 22*, 23*

Mon Nov 19

Transformations of Trig Functions

To review combinations of transformations of trig functions.  We will graph trig functions given an equation, and develop an equation given a graph.

p. 275 #2 – 4, 8ab, 9ab, 10, 11

Handout:  Determining Trig Equations

                Click here for answers

Tue Nov 20

Unit  3 Test

 

Wed Nov 21

Graphs of Reciprocal Trig Functions

We will use our knowledge of the primary trig function graphs, to graph their reciprocal functions.

p. 267 #4 – 7, 10, 13, 15 - 18

Thu Nov 22

Applications of Trig Functions – Day 1

To apply our skills to solving real-world problems that can be modelled by sinusoidal functions.

p. 258#12 – 15, 17 – 20*

p. 277 #12 – 14, 15a, 19 – 21

Fri Nov 23

Applications of Trig Functions – Day 2

To apply our skills to solving real-world problems that can be modelled by sinusoidal functions.

p. 268 #11

Handout: More Applications of Trig Functions

Mon Nov 26

PD day

 

Tue Nov 27

Trig Equations – Day 1

We will learn to solve trigonometric equations using our skills with factoring, solving equations and trig identities.

p. 287 #1, 3, 4, 7, 9 – 19, 22

Wed Nov 28

 

Quiz

Trig Equations – Day 2

To practice our skills with solving trigonometric equations, including those involving double angle identities.

p. 289 #23, 24, 26, 28

Handout

Thu Nov 29

Rate of Change of Trigonometric Functions

To apply our knowledge of instantaneous rates of change to scenarios involving sinusoidal functions.

p. 296 #1 – 3, 6, 7, 10, 11

 

Fri Nov 30

In class Assignment/Test Review

p. 300 #1 – 12

p. 302 #1 – 14

Mon Dec 3

Test Review

To enhance our skills and review our knowledge of trigonometric graphs and equations.

p. 300 #1 – 12

p. 302 #1 – 14

Tue Dec 4

Test Review

To enhance our skills and review our knowledge of trigonometric graphs and equations.

p. 300 #1 – 12

p. 302 #1 – 14

Wed Dec 5

UNIT TEST #4

UNIT TEST #4