MHF4U – Advanced Functions

 

 

Links to previous units:  Unit 1    Unit 2

 

Upcoming Evaluations:

Evaluation

Topics

Date

Quiz #4

NO CALCULATORS!!

Angular Velocity and Coterminal/Related Angle/

Co-function Identities

Tentative Date: 

Tuesday, April 17

Unit Test #3

All of Unit 3

Thursday, April 26

       

Click here for a copy of Mr. Choi’s Super Trig Formula Sheet!!!

Unit 3:  Trigonometry 1

Date

Topic/Learning goals

Daily Work/Assignments

Apr 5 Thu

Radian Measure

We will learn how to convert between degree and radian measure for angles. 

p. 208 #1 – 9, 11, 14 – 16, 20

Handout:  Fractions of a circle

Click here for answers

Apr 6 Fri

Radian Measure Applications

To define angular velocity and learn to calculate it in radians/second.  Applying our knowledge of angular velocity and radians to real-world problems

p. 209 #10, 17, 18, 19, 21, 22

Handout:  Radian Measure Applications

Apr 9 Mon

Coterminal Angles and Radians

To define what coterminal angles are and learn to find equivalent representations of trig values.  To review special angles.

p. 216 #1 – 6

Handout:  Special Angles

               Click here for answers

Apr 10 Tue

OSSLT(no class)

 

Apr 11 Wed

 

 

 

Related Angle Identities

We will learn how to evaluate trig ratios for angles in all four quadrants.  This will be done by relating them to an acute angle added/subtracted from the x-axis.

p. 217 #7 – 10, 13, 16 – 18, 20, 25

Apr 12 Thu

Co-function Identities – Day 1

To learn to evaluate trig ratios for angles in all four quadrants, by relating them to an acute angle added/subtracted from the y-axis.

p. 225 #1 – 14

Handout: Coterminal (Related & 

               Corelated Angles)

Apr 13 Fri

Co-function Identities – Day 2

We will practice our skills with co-function identities

 

Problem Solving Practice(solution)

p. 226 #22, 24, 25, 27, 29

 

Click here for solution for #27

 

Handout:  Co-function Identities

                #2ace, 3cde, 4 – 7

Apr 16 Mon

Compound Angle Identities

To develop the sum/difference identities for the sine and cosine ratios.

p. 232 #1 – 8, 10, 12 – 15, 20, 21

Apr 17 Tue

 

 

Quiz

Double Angle Identities

We will extend our knowledge of the compound angle identities to develop the double angle, and half angle identities.

p. 234 #19, 25

Handout:  Exercise 6.3

                #1abc, 2 – 4, 6, 7, 10abc, 12

                       Click here for handout

Apr 18 Wed

Trig Identities – Day 1

To review strategies for proving trigonometric identities.

p. 240 #7 – 13, 15, 16, 21

Handout:  Trig Identities – Day 1

Apr 19 Thu

Trig Identities – Day 2

We will extend our knowledge to include proving trig identities involving double angles, etc.

Handout:  Trig Identities – Day 2

Apr 20 Fri

Trig Identities – Day 3

To continue to develop our skills, and strategies.  To solve more challenging trig identities.

Handout:  Trig Identities – Day 3

Apr 23 Mon

Review – Day 1

p. 244 – 247 (Review Identity Sheets)

Apr 24 Tue

Review – Day 2

p. 244 – 247 (Review Identity Sheets)

Apr 25 Wed

Review – Day 3

p. 244 – 247 (Review Identity Sheets)

Apr 26 Thu

UNIT TEST #3

UNIT TEST #3