Unit 2

Topic

Work

2.1

Mar 1 Thu

Learning goals:

Understand the following terms and definitions

- medians vs altitudes

- perpendicular bisectors vs angle bisectors

- centroid, orthocentre, circumcentre, incentre

Drawing the altitude, right perpendicular and angle bisector; find the points of intersections of altitude, right bisectors and medians. (Note: using ruler and right angle rules and compass is sufficient enough for this topic.)

Classwork Triangle Centres

 

Independent Study Booklet

 

Optional

P31 #1, 2, 4, 5

P34 # 6, and 7

2.3-2.4

Mar 5 Tue

Distance on the plane I (distance to the origin)

The Equation of a Circle,

Note: Only circles centred at the origin

 

P151 #2, 3, 611, 14

 

Distance on the plane II (distance between two points)

 

Distance Between Two Points

 

P162 #2(a-f), 3, 4, 5, 8, 11

2.5 Mar 6 Tue

Circle centered at origin

Handout: Circles

 

P155 #1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 11, 12, 15

2.2

Mar 4 Mon

Learning goal: understand the midpoint formula and applications

P173 #2acegh, 4, 5, 8, 12, 13,14

2.7

Mar 7 Wed

Analytic Geometry (putting it together)

Solutions

CP: Analytic Geometry Toolbox

 

 

2.8

Mar 8 Thu

QUIZ Distance, definitions of triangles, midpoint

Special line 1 : Medians

CP: Median

2.9 Mar 9 Fri

 

Special line 2 : Perpendicular Bisectors

Special line 3 : Altitude and perpendicular lines

 

CP: Perpendicular bisectors

Altitude and perpendicular lines from C to AB

March 12 March 17

MARCH BREAK

 

2.10

Mar 19 Mon

Welcome back

Cartesian Triangles Review

Assignment out

Cartesian Triangles - A Summary

 

Optional:

P195 #6, 8, 10, 1217

 

2.1 Mar 20 Tue

Determine the length of an altitude

Length of an Altitude

 

P195 #4, 7, 9, 11

 

Review:

- properties of quadrilaterals and Triangles

Copy Key Ideas on P178 to the worksheets Review of Quadrilaterals.

- area and perimeter

 

 

P37 #1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7

P39 #1, 2, 4, 5, 6

 

2.12

Mar 21 Wed

Classifying Shapes on the Plane I

Read examples on P178181 #1, #2

Read examples on P200 #1

P182 #2, 3, 510

2.13

Mar 22 Thu

Classifying Shapes on the Plane II

(one must get a lot of work done in class!)

 

Properties of Geometric Figures

Analytical Geometry Worksheets #2

Optional Practice

P183 #11odd, 13, 18, 20, 21

 

2.12

Mar 23 Fri

Verifying properties of geometry shapes

Review Handouts

2.13

Mar 26 Mon

Review 1

Assignment Due

Handout

P196 #22

 

Optional Review

P203 #37, 10, 11

Mar 27 Tue

Review for Test 2

Chapter 2 review

(no answers for Part 1; check with your neighbour in class)

 

Optional review:

P209 #723

Mar 28 Wed

Test 2 Analytic Geometry